Skip to content

In Honor of Lane

January 20, 2010
tags:
by

I figured I would wait for all the bestrewing of the Lane Kiffin story before I said anything about it, since it’s very important that I look at the situation objectively.  Okay, so that’s not true.  I think this is the greatest thing since the invention of steel-toed boots, and I am personally planning to name my first son Lane provided that the mother of said child is not a Tennessee fan (my brother is going to name his Kiffin—wouldn’t that be fun?).  This might have Vols fans going to the bar with guys like Steve Spurrier.  They literally hate this guy.  And I couldn’t find this funnier.  Except maybe if this happened:

A Knoxville attorney has filed paperwork seeking to rename a local waste water treatment plant in honor of Lane Kiffin.

Drew McElroy paid $262 and filed an application with the Knoxville City Council Public Properties and Facilities Naming Committee to rename the Kuwahee Wastewater Treatment Plant as the Lane Kiffin Sewage Center.

“It dawned on me — Lane Kiffin told us that he hoped the fans would understand. I thought, ‘Well, naming the wastewater plant for him would let him know, I think very clearly, we do understand,’ ” McElroy told WBIR-TV, a local NBC affiliate. “We want to memorialize his stay here, and I think this would be doing it appropriately.”

According to WBIR, McElroy wrote that he wanted “to honor our recently departed head coach and raise awareness of the good work done by the Knoxville Utilities Board.”

The committee hasn’t set a date for its next meeting, but McElroy said he intends to follow through.

(My fingers were briefly paralyzed by laughter, so bear with me for a moment.)

Ha ha ha ha!  Ha ha ha ha!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    November 18, 2010 12:23 PM

    I think the funniest thing is you are so obsessed with Tennessee that you are willing to name your child Lane. Seriously, I think it reflects rather pitifully on you. You would actually name your child, years from now, after a footnote in Tennessee football history in some misguided attempt to get a rise out of people. Congratulations, you’re bitterness (understandable considering you support Memphis and Vandy) has reached new heights.

Leave a Reply

