Skip to content

Leave Your Feelings at the Door

February 25, 2010
tags:
by

As evidenced by my most recent writing, I just can’t contain my excitement about this morning’s health-care “summit”, or whatever they’re calling that thing where the Democrats talk and the Republicans listen (isn’t that what “Congress” is?).  I’m sure that was a real doozy, and I’m also sure that I’ll have something to say about it later.  However!  There have been some developments lately over at MSNBC that are difficult, if not impossible, to ignore.  Don’t get me wrong: I don’t watch cable news opinion shows and I most certainly don’t watch Keith Olbermann.  But I do get Newser’s morning newsletter, so I get plenty of intel on his diatribes because most people who like to read their news in two paragraphs actually like the guy. (Yeah, that was a cheap one.  My bad.)

I suspect Olbermann has always been like this, but I can’t really remember the last time an allegedly popular political personality has gone off like this in the same week.  It’s really something, folks.  Not long after he called Sarah Palin a “tool” (you stay classy, Keith) and got zinged by the Dallas Tea Party for implying that Tea Partiers are racists (that one’s actually really funny), the guy quite literally waved the bloody shirt when he begged Washington politicians to pass health-care reform, citing his father’s medical condition as an example of why all Americans need health insurance.  That’s something you don’t see everyday.

What’s often lost in the fray of beseeching the Feds to solve people’s problems for them is an actual argument.   This whole thing might make sense to some people, and there’s no question that universal coverage is a desirable goal, but this is not the way that policy decisions are made.  Medicare makes sense in the “someone has to do something about medical bills for the elderly” line of reasoning, but its insolvency almost single-handedly driving the force of our budget deficit, which leads me to believe that Medicare’s inception may have been one of the worst decisions in the history of Congress/the Presidency.   That’s what happens when we got caught up in our “feelings”.  Doesn’t anybody want to be the tough guy?

Leave a Reply

